Quilting Meets Library

This week, I truly got to be the Quilting Librarian. Or at least the Sewing Librarian. The children’s departments of our library system have Early Literacy Centers with educational toys for the children to play with while visiting the library. As you can imagine, these toys get some hard use!

I arrived at the library early Friday morning and decided to work on piecing a block while listening to an audio book until it was time to go inside. My supervisor saw me through the car window and asked me to bring my sewing kit in with me. We quickly determined that my sewing skills were much better than hers. So I now have an additional duty: toy repair. This poor puppet’s stethoscope had lost the silver end piece and the bean bag had a split seam that leaked plastic beads. Both are now ready to face the rigors of playing children again. And I now have to be sure that I keep a sewing kit with me for future toy emergencies.

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

