Nickel Quilt Progress

Blocks and partially completed blocks for nickel quiltI didn’t get as much done on this quilt in the last week as I could have. But it was for the best of reasons, a visit from my parents. Still, given my usual slow progress, this is pretty impressive. The larger half square triangles need to be cut into the smaller pieces that actually make up the block. I also have a good stack of 5 inch squares waiting to be sewn together and cut down.

It’s an interesting process, quite different from my usual approach of cut the actual pieces individually. Once the larger half square triangle pieces are cut down, all of the smaller triangle segments are already sewn leaving just 16 square pieces to sew together. On the lower left you can see the rows of squares waiting for pressing before being joined into the finished block. Above are some of the stacks of squares, lined up and ready to be chain sewn. Yes, that means I am using my machine and not piecing this one by hand! For those who know me, that is truly shocking news.

I might make even faster progress, but I keep getting distracted writing book reviews, early literacy blog posts and creating a wiki of S.T.E.M. programs for libraries. Add in keeping up with the garden (there are already baby tomatoes on the plants!) and cooking and I am pretty busy!

About booksnquilts

I'm the Children's Services Coordinator for the Jefferson-Madison Regional Library in Central Virginia.
This entry was posted in Quilting and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

